England Women Sevens head coach James Bailey has named his 12-player squad for the opening round of the 2018/19 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Glendale, Colorado on 20-21 October.

England are drawn in Pool B and will face USA, New Zealand and China in the knock-out stage of the competition.

Captained by Abbie Brown, the squad includes seven players who represented England at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco this summer with six of those also part of the bronze medal-winning 2018 Commonwealth Games squad.

Alongside the experienced talent are five players who will make their World Series debut in Colorado after being announced as contracted members of the England Women Sevens squad in August – Abi Burton, Ellie Kildunne, Celia Quansah, Helena Rowland and Emma Uren.

“We have a great blend of experience and youth in our squad for this opening round of this year’s World Series,” said Bailey.

“Having players who have been to a number of World Series tournaments, an Olympics, Commonwealth Games and World Cup, complemented by new recruits who each bring something very unique is very exciting.

“We’re really pleased with the way that the squad has gelled throughout a relatively short pre-season, most notably during our recent training tournament in France. The cohesion on and off the pitch has been really impressive and we’re looking forward to seeing how the benefits of that will pay off in Glendale.”

England Women Sevens squad:

Holly Aitchison

Claire Allan

Jess Breach

Abi Burton

Abbie Brown (c)

Deborah Fleming

Natasha Hunt

Ellie Kildunne

Celia Quansah

Helena Rowland

Emily Scarratt

Emma Uren